Can you identify the people in our unknown gallery? . . . . . . . . Hough Mill open 2-5pm every Sunday from 7th April to 29th September . . . . . . . . The Trust has six events amongst the 100 in the Leicestershire Festival of Archaeology in July - see diary . . . . . . . .

The Heritage Trust may be a small, volunteer run charity but it is very busy preserving the heritage of Swannington for benefit of current and future generations.

Whether you want to know the dates of mill openings, family heritage events, archives evenings, walks, talks or volunteer sessions they are here.

Contact Katrina our Trust Chair and Events Coordinator via our Contact Page  to find out more.

 

 

June 2019 Logo

June 2019

Sunday 2nd JuneHough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Wednesday 5th June – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 7th June – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Saturday 8th June – Weekend Volunteers – 10am Snibston No 3, Spring Lane

Sunday 9th June – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Wednesday 12th June – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 14th June – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 16th June – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Monday 17th June – Archives Group – Swannington Village Hall 7pm-9pm

Wednesday 19th June – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 21st June – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 23rd June – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Wednesday 26th June – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 28th June – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 30th June – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Sunday 30th JuneSwannington Open Gardens (run by the Swannington Open Gardens)

July Logo

July

Monday 1st July – Archives Group – Swannington Village Hall 7pm-9pm

Wednesday 3rd July – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 5th July – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Saturday 6th July – Califat Coal Mine Excavation – Join Leicestershire Industrial History Society and Swannington Heritage Trust for a tour of the 1855-1873 Califat coal mine.  Booking not required.  Download more information

Sunday 7th July – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Sunday 7th JulyStrawberry Fayre at Swannington village hall from 2pm

Tuesday 9th July – Historic Main Street Historical Walk – from Swannington School at 7pm.  Find out more about the former farms, the poverty of the Tan Yard, the life of Lady Beaumont and the lost pubs.  Download more information  Limited to 20 places, book via Eventbrite

Wednesday 10th July – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 12th July – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Saturday 13th July – Weekend Volunteers – 10am Snibston No 3, Spring Lane

Saturday 13th July – Walk The Swannington Incline – from Snibston No 3 Coal Mine, Spring Lane at 10.30am.  Walk in the footsteps of Robert Stephenson on a guided tour of the Swannington Incline at the western end of his 1832 Leicester and Swannington Railway.  Booking essential, limited to 20 places.  Download more information

Saturday 13th July – A Stroll To A Nature Reserve In “Old Swannington” – from Snibston No 3 Coal Mine, Spring Lane at 1pm. Walk in the footsteps of Robert Stephenson on a historical walk that follows his 1832 Leicester and Swannington Railway south towards Coalville. Booking essential, limited to 20 places.  Download more information

Sunday 14th July – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm 

Monday 15th July– Archives Group – Swannington Village Hall 7pm-9pm

Wednesday 17th July – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 19th July – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 21st July – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Sunday 21st July – Califat Coal Mine Excavation – Join Leicestershire Industrial History Society and Swannington Heritage Trust for a tour of the 1855-1873 Califat coal mine.  Booking not required.  Download more information

Tuesday 23rd July – Hidden Treasures of St George’s Hill Historical Walk – from Hough Mill at 7pm. Join us for a fact filled stroll around the area and find out more about the post mill with a lady miller, the secrets of St George’s graveyard, the Coleorton Railway tunnel, the isolation hospital and other hidden treasures. Download more information Limited to 20 places, book via Eventbrite

Wednesday 24th July – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 26th July – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 28th July – Hough Mill Open 2pm-5pm

Monday 29th July– Archives Group – Swannington Village Hall 7pm-9pm

Wednesday 31st July – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

August 2019 and beyond Logo

August 2019 and beyond

Friday 2nd August – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 4th AugustHough Mill Open – 2-5pm,

Wednesday 7th August  – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 9th August  – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Saturday 10th August – Weekend Volunteers – 10am Snibston No 3, Spring Lane

Sunday 11th August Hough Mill Open – 2-5pm

Monday 12th August– Archives Group – Swannington Village Hall 7pm-9pm

Tuesday 13th August – Califat Excavation – 9.30am Califat Spinney, led by our partners Leicestershire Industrial History Society see LIHS Website for more information

Wednesday 14th August – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 16th August – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 18th AugustHough Mill Open – 2-5pm

Wednesday 21st August – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 23rd August – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 25th AugustHough Mill Open – 2- 5pm

Monday 26th AugustHough Mill Open – 2- 5pm

Wednesday 28th August – Land Management – 9am Hough Mill

Friday 30th August – Land Management and Mill Maintenance – 9am Hough Mill

Sunday 29th SeptemberTake Teddy To The Mill – from 2pm, what will brave teddies do this year?

Thursday 10th October – Cardiff and Leicester – talk to Cosby 13th Club

Tuesday 13th October 2020 – A Coal Mining Dynasty – talk to Shepshed Historical Society